Grocery shopping – do you carry the right bags?

As the world celebrates the Environment Day I appreciate all productive environment friendly initiatives attempted by the Corporate and individuals across the globe that yielded good results towards our march towards greener postures.

On June 5th I read an advertisement in the Times of India Bangalore edition from a cooking oil producing company in bold caption reading-“TO DAY LET YOUR STOMACH SPEAK FOR THE ENVIRONMENT “.Carrying this thought further I pondered  over that how as common citizen we can contribute to the green renaissance?

Whenever I read and think about green environment Images of plastic bags top the agenda.

I have no idea about how much money is spent by the Bangalore civic Corporation towards banning plastic shopping bags. Although there is a ban on  plastic bags and all shops kept a sign board displaying the ban and non availability one will not miss their sight on mountains of used plastic bags gathered in street corners. Reasons could be far too many.

Perhaps thanks to the spree of consumerism and the proliferation of shopping Malls, grocery and convenience stores in Bangalore. Does it mean indirectly we are perusing only worthless awareness campaign? I know that I am not   the most environmentally aware and knowledgeable but I know at least what non biodegradable crap is. Can I therefore take the opinion that do contemporary shopper’s mostly in bikes,scooters and in cars in Bangalore tend to ignore their concern for good environment to over weigh their immediate convenience to overcome their laziness to avoid carrying environment friendly carry bags from their homes?

From today on wards I have an appeal to all shop goers in Bangalore that you should pledge to the compliance of the law and establish a new habit of carrying the right bag for your shopping needs. A must retail therapy call to all shoppers who care to save the environment.

It is the duty of every citizen to educate the society and self in leading the search to blend the habit of shopping in right type of bags. This habit would speed up our catch to our march towards green renaissance.

I am confident that we will achieve a situation soon that you would rarely see people carrying plastic bags everywhere. A green hope and faith from my side indeed.

 


